La Leona and Other Guitar Stories
Book Topics
Isaac Albéniz
Andrés Segura
classical guitar
troubadours
Spanish guitar
flamenco
vihuela
Baroque
Fernando Sor
Andrés Segovia
Lily Ashfar
Amazon Paperback
Antigone Books (Tucson, AZ) Paperback
BAM Paperback
Barnes & Noble Paperback
Bookshop.org Paperback
Brazos Bookstore (Houston, TX) Paperback
Changing Hands Bookstore (Phoenix, AZ) Paperback
East Bay Booksellers (Oakland, CA) Paperback
Indiebound Paperback
Magers & Quinn Booksellers (Minneapolis, MN) Paperback
Malaprop's Bookstore (Asheville, NC) Paperback

La Leona and Other Guitar Stories

LA LEONA is a boisterous and enriching fictional journey through the evolution of the classical guitar, from the days of the troubadours through the twentieth century. Readers will encounter the great composers, performers and luthiers who've made their mark over the centuries of musical development, as well as a lively cast of historical characters ranging Shakespeare to Jean-Paul Marat, Walt Whitman and others. In a style that is both surreal and absurdist in the vein of Jorge Luis Borges, Italo Calvino and Peter Cameron, these ribald and entertaining tales are as surprising and imaginative as the music Mr. Gallant celebrates.

Links to reviews

Foreword Reviews
Book Topics
Isaac Albéniz
Andrés Segura
classical guitar
troubadours
Spanish guitar
flamenco
vihuela
Baroque
Fernando Sor
Andrés Segovia
Lily Ashfar

Reviews and Comments

  • "... an exquisite short story collection which will charm and enlighten guitar aficionados, whether professional, amateur, or anywhere in between, and probably quite a few "civilians" as well --both now and for years to come."
    Author of The Art of Classical Guitar Playing and Classical Guitar 2000 (Alfred Music), and A Modern Approach to Classical Guitar (Hal Leonard Music).
  • "Gallant's literary virtuosity is shown in his ability to align the stories he chooses to highlight with the pivotal moments in world history...Gallant animates the full experience of the ambitious guitarist throughout many different regions, eras, and cultures."
    Classical Guitar Teacher, Performer, and Composer
  • "The fresh, bold, and vivid stories blending together bits of history, literature, art, music, drama and humor are a breath of fresh air in this inventive and imaginative read."
    Professor of Guitar, University of Memphis
  • "The author has a beautiful writing style, that, like his subjects, is musical in itself-graceful phrases with imaginative textural crescendos, climaxes and cadences."
    Professor Emeritus, Classical Guitar, Arizona State University
  • "In James Gallant's erudite story collection, musicians witness European history from the sidelines. These intricate stories traverse medieval Spain, Elizabethan Denmark, and revolutionary France. Details about guitars, and lavish backgrounds result in dense narratives that favor impressions of periods."