The Futility Experts
Book Topics
Midlife crisis
Aging men
Tuba player
Brock Clark
Words With Friends
Bill Roorbach
Marine sniper
Marching Bands
Cryptozoology
Ron Currie Jr.
Sasquatch
Marine sniper
Piano tuning
RAD
John Philip Sousa
Snapchat
David Carkeet
Piano movers
Cryptids
College professor
tenure
comic novel
Amazon Paperback
Antigone Books Paperback
BAM Paperback
Barnes & Noble Paperback
East Bay Booksellers Paperback
Malaprop's Paperback
Point Reyes Books Paperback
IPG Paperback
Indiebound Paperback
Brazos Bookstore Paperback
Longfellow Books Paperback
The King's English (Salt Lake City, UT) Paperback
Changing Hands (Phoenix, AZ) Paperback
Tattered Cover (Denver, CO) Paperback
Book Culture (New York, NY) Paperback
Book Soup (Hollywood, CA) Paperback
Magers & Quinn (Minneapolis, MN) Paperback

The Futility Experts : A Novel

Margaret Broucek's debut novel, The Futility Experts, is a wickedly funny examination of how not to age gracefully. Feeling trapped in a stagnant marriage, working a dead-end job, and desperately coveting the last good parking spot, Tim Turner decides to reinvent himself as a 21 year-old Marine sniper named Rusty. At the same time, Davis Beardsley, a professor of zoology obsessed with imaginary creatures, watches his chances for tenure circle the drain when a new department head takes a dim view of his teaching methods. Delivered with deadpan wit and keen insight, not to mention a decrepit Sasquatch, a Romanian adoptee hell-bent on destruction, and a trio of incontinent lapdogs, The Futility Experts will appeal to fans of Jami Attenberg, Gary Schteyngart, and anyone who likes their comedy with a little chaos.

Links

MargaretBroucek.com
View the Trailer
Book Topics
Midlife crisis
Aging men
Tuba player
Brock Clark
Words With Friends
Bill Roorbach
Marine sniper
Marching Bands
Cryptozoology
Ron Currie Jr.
Sasquatch
Marine sniper
Piano tuning
RAD
John Philip Sousa
Snapchat
David Carkeet
Piano movers
Cryptids
College professor
tenure
comic novel

Reviews and Comments

  • "The Futility Experts starts with a bang and only gets more explosive from there, laughs and satisfying plot twists, a kooky cast, including dogs that only a mother could love. I flipped pages till the night was dawn, dying to figure out how Margaret Broucek would bring all the threads together. A self-invented sniper, a Sasquatch-loving scientist, a raucous neighbor (complete with contested real estate), a struggling family man, where's it all going to end? In a great reading experience, that's where, and an auspicious debut for this talented new voice"
    Author of Life Among Giants, The Remedy for Love, and The Girl of the Lake
  • "Margaret Broucek's The Futility Experts makes hilarious art out of disaster. The characters herein might be failures, but they are inspired failures, and Broucek treats them so humanely that the reader can't help but root for them. An extravagantly comic, strangely moving novel. I loved it."
    Author of An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England
  • "Broucek's prose is stunning. Terrific turns of phrase, technicolor images, and a linguistic sensibility left-of-center enough to please and amuse without ever becoming gaudy or otherwise drawing undue attention to itself."
    Author of The One-Eyed Man, God Is Dead
  • "What Kris Kristofferson said when he discovered John Prine is what comic writers are going to say about Margaret Broucek. She's so good that we'll have to break her thumbs."
    Author of The Full Catastrophe
  • "So glad to hear absurd was what you were going for, Dear."